the grätzl: once in meidling, always in meidling

the grätzl: once in meidling, always in meidling

Close-knit. That applies to Vienna’s 12th district Meidling more than to any other. Back in 1104, the village was named Murlingen and has had a very eventful history since.

Obermeidling, Untermeidling, Gaudenzdorf, Hetzendorf and Altmannsdorf: a glance at the names of the individual quarters of times past reflects the village life structure of this district. In 1890, it was first connected with the urban center of Vienna and many different companies and working families took up residence in the area. Its character has remained to this day. And so has the famous »Meidlinger L«, a very distinctive kind of dialect which is believed to have been introduced originally by migrant Czech craftsmen in 19th century Vienna. 

Around the Meidlinger Markt you still can hear the »Meidlinger L«, along with a mixture of many other languages, of course. It‘s exactly this blend of tradition and international flair which attracts more and more young and creative people to this former blue collar district. That leads to exciting combinations that are to be discovered:

  • borough character, full of small houses
  • in the immediate area of the palace garden Schönbrunn
  • farmer’s market with varied stands
  • restaurants, hip cafés and pubs
  • lots of small specialty stores
  • a bit of character reminiscent of the monarchy
  • and in the middle of all that... your hotel room

 

Highlights

clever: the grätzl in figures

clever: the grätzl in figures

The village was originally named »Meidling« in the year 1104 – which was at that time known as »Murlingen«. The Meidlinger Market of course did not yet exist at that time, having been first developed during the interwar period.

14.000

14.000

Approximately 14,000 visitors stroll through the stands of the Meidlinger Market each week. An ever-increasing tendency!

50

50

There are around fifty masoned, colorful Standln (stands) to discover and enjoy at the Meidlinger Market. Its colorful variety of stands – from mint to mauve to terracotta orange, it’s all there – which pretty well reflects in the goods you can find there.

1,000+

1,000+

Enjoy the Würstel (sausages) with Saft (gulasch gravy), cevapcici, pizza, gluten-free organic food, caffé latte with soymilk, fruits, vegetables or meat specialities in the delicatessen, the hip coffee house, the Tschecherl (bar) or a typical Viennese Wirtshaus (restaurant).

1869

1869

Just a few metres away at the Meidlinger cemetery you can find the grave of the inventor of the postcard (at least, the one who realized the idea). In 1869, Emanuel Alexander Herrmann made the innovative suggestion to implement an official postal card in the Austrian/Hungarian Monarchy.

1834

1834

Also worth seeing is the first Austrian steam engine, which was manufactured that year by the Berndl factory, located just around the corner on Schönbrunner Straße.

Book or request a suite
book request request request

das grätzl: einmal meidling, immer meidling

das grätzl: einmal meidling, immer meidling

Zusammengewachsen. Das trifft auf den 12. Wiener Gemeindebezirk Meidling wohl zu wie auf keinen anderen. Schon 1104 wurde der Ort unter dem Namen Murlingen erwähnt und hat seitdem eine bewegte Geschichte hinter sich.

Obermeidling, Untermeidling, Gaudenzdorf, Hetzendorf und Altmannsdorf: Alleine die Namen der ehemaligen Vororte spiegeln die dörfliche Struktur des Bezirkes wider. Erst um 1890 mit dem Stadtzentrum verbunden, siedelten sich hier die unterschiedlichsten Betriebe und Arbeiterfamilien an. Und dieser Charakter ist dem Bezirk bis heute geblieben. So wie auch das berühmte »Meidlinger L« – eine ausgeprägte Dialektform, die angeblich mit zugewanderten tschechischen Handwerkern im 19. Jahrhundert nach Wien gekommen sein soll. 

Rund um den Meidlinger Markt ist das »Meidlinger L« auch heute noch zu hören. Natürlich vermischt mit einem bunten Mix aus anderen Sprachen. Und genau die Mischung aus Tradition und internationalem Flair lockt auch immer mehr junges und kreatives Volk in den ehemaligen Arbeiterbezirk. Dadurch entstehen spannende Kombinationen, die es zu entdecken gilt:

  • Dorfcharakter durch niedrige Häuser
  • Unmittelbare Nähe zum Schlosspark Schönbrunn
  • Bauernmarkt mit abwechslungsreichen Ständen
  • Restaurants, Szene-Cafés und Tschecherl
  • viele kleine Fach- und Spezialitätenläden
  • einige Reminiszenzen an die Monarchie
  • und mittendrin Ihr Hotelzimmer!

 

Highlights

gscheid: das grätzl in zahlen <br>1104

gscheid: das grätzl in zahlen <br>1104

Schon im Jahr 1104 wurde der Ort Meidling namentlich erwähnt – damals jedoch noch unter dem alten Namen »Murlingen«. Der Meidlinger Markt selbst hat da noch etwas auf sich warten lassen, entstand er doch erst in der Zwischenkriegszeit.

 

14.000

14.000

Rund 14.000 Besucherinnen und Besucher flanieren pro Woche zwischen den Standln des Meidlinger Markts. Tendenz: steigend!

 

50

50

Rund 50 gemauerte, bunte Standln gibt es am Meidlinger Markt zu entdecken. Ihre Farbenvielfalt – von Mintgrün über Lila bis hin zu Terrakotta-Orange ist da alles dabei – spiegelt sich auch in den feilgebotenen Waren wider.

 

1.000+

1.000+

Genießen Sie Würstel mit Saft, Čevapčići, Pizza, glutenfreie Biokost, Caffè Latte mit Sojamilch, Obst, Gemüse oder Fleischspezialitäten. Im Delikatessenladen, im Szenekaffeehaus, im Tschecherl oder im Wiener Wirtshaus.

 

1869

1869

Nur ein Stück entfernt, am Meidlinger Friedhof, liegt der Miterfinder der Postkarte (oder zumindest der offizielle »In-die-Tat-Umsetzer«). Im Jahr 1869 machte nämlich Emanuel Alexander Herrmann den ausschlaggebenden Vorschlag, eine postamtlich-offizielle Postkarte in Österreich-Ungarn erstmals einzuführen.

1834

1834

Sehenswert im Grätzl ist außerdem die erste Dampfmaschine Österreichs, die der Fabrikant Bendl im besagten Jahr gleich ums Eck in der Schönbrunner Straße in seinem Betrieb aufstellen ließ. 

Suite buchen oder anfragen
buchen anfragen anfragen anfragen